Help! I’m getting like a couple of hundred spams per hour relayed through rbof53-01-p177.gt.saix.net (SAIX is a South African ISP) to every permutation of two or three letters @textuality.com. They are a classic 419 spam allegedly from rizuma@joinme.com, but I’ve never seen this pattern before. It all gets caught by the spam filter, but textuality.com is just a POPmail address and I can’t imagine good things will happen if I just ignore it and fail to offload the crap from my ISP regularly. This isn’t an irritant, this is an outright assault. The phone number in South Africa is +27-83-570-6267. Is there anything I can do? (Later: got my ISP to drop anything that’s not specifically to tbray on the floor, but what a shock. I suppose if you’re any big company, there are a couple of dozen of these turkeys pounding you at any given moment. Yow.)


ongoing
software · G & M · Dad author · colophon · rights
picture of the day
Around June 16, 2003: Blogs and Ink Under the Fingernails · Practical Airport Anthropology · Pie · Aggregator = Ticker? · Poppies!

What?
· The World (62 fragments)
· · Life Online (144 more)


Serif · Sans-Serif
I work at Sun Microsystems. The opinions expressed here are my own, and neither Sun nor any other party necessarily agrees with them.